"I have no borders"

900-275 Slater Street
Ottawa, ON K1P 5H9
Phone: (613) 231-7054


The Republic of Vanuatu

Do I Need a Visa to Visit Vanuatu?

Canadian citizens using Canadian passports do not require a visa to enter Vanuatu for tourism stays under thirty (30) days. A business visa is required.

Nationals of the following countries do not need a visa to enter Vanuatu:
Antigua & Barbuda, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belgium, Belize, Bermuda, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Cameroon, CANADA, Chile, Cuba, Cyprus, Cyprus, Czech, Denmark, Dominica, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France and Dependencies, Gambia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guyana, Hungary, India, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Latvia, Lesotho, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Malta, Marshall Island, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Morocco, Namibia, Nauru, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Pakistan, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Russia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Slovakia, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, St. Vincent & Grenadines, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Tanzania, Thailand, Tonga, Trinidad & Tobago, Tunisia, Tuvalu, UAE, Uganda, UK, UK Dependencies, USA, Vatican, Western Samoa, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

All other nationals will need a visa.


Nationals of countries not visa-exempt will have to apply for a visa directly to the Vanuatu Government, and pay a fee of about Vatu 2500. (US$13).

Principal Immigration Officer
Immigration Department
Private Mail Bag 0092
Port Vila
Ph: (678) 22354
Fax: (678) 25492


Standard residence permits are issued for a duration of one year, and are renewable every year provided conditions of first issue are unchanged. Fee: Vatu 20 000. (US$150).


Work permits are issued by the Labour Department and attached to Residence Permits. Work Permits require an application from both the Employee and the Employer. A repatriation bond must be settled by the employer.


Major investors can obtain long term residence permits. So, for example, if you buy real estate in Vanuatu, you will automatically qualify for a residence permit. A repatriation bond must be settled by the applicant. For individuals seeking an investors permit and work permit, the bond is about US$35 800.

Investment Resident permit
US$120 000 3 Years
US$180 000 5 Years
US$350 000 10 Years
US$700 000 15 Years


If you plan to retire to your new waterfront property in Vanuatu, and have a monthly retirement revenue transfer to Vanuatu of at least Vatu 300 000 (US$2140) per month, you can obtain a retirement permit which is good for life.


All permits are only issued after provision of the following documents to the Principal Immigration Officer in Vanuatu:

  • police clearance certificate from your country of origin
  • birth certificate,
  • list of dependents, including their gender and a copy of their birth certificates,
  • certificate of Incorporation (for investors),
  • divorce certificate if you are divorced,
  • medical certificate stating your medical condition
  • marriage certificate if you are married,
  • copy of your passport,
  • two (2) passport photos.

For more information about travel conditions, please visit the Foreign Affairs Web site.