"I have no borders"

900-275 Slater Street
Ottawa, ON K1P 5H9
Phone: (613) 231-7054


The Republic of Paraguay

Do I Need a Visa to Visit Paraguay?

Canadian citizens using Canadian passports require a visa to enter Paraguay.

Canadian passport holders will be granted ON ARRIVAL VISAS to enter the Republic of Paraguay as of November 2012. The visas will only be issued on arrival at the Silvio Pettirossi International Airport in Asuncion, and will require a valid Canadian passport and payment of US$150 in cash. The visas provided on arrival will be valid for multiple entries within a period of ninety days, from the date of the first entry.

Nationals of the following countries are exempt from visa requirements:
Costa Rica, El Salvador, Panama, Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru, Uruguay, Venezuela, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Estonia, Sweden, Switzerland, UK, Israel, Japan, South Korea, South Africa.

All other nationals will need a visa.

Non-Canadian travelers to Paraguay are advised that they must seek visas directly from the Paraguay Embassy in Ottawa.


Embassy of Paraguay
151 Slater Street, Suite 501
Ottawa ON K1P 5H3
Tel: (613) 567-1283
Fax: (613) 567-1679

For more information about travel conditions, please visit the Foreign Affairs Web site.