"I have no borders"

900-275 Slater Street
Ottawa, ON K1P 5H9
Phone: (613) 231-7054


Palestine Authority - Gaza and the West Bank
Occupied Territories by Israel

Do I Need a Visa to Visit Palestine?

The Occupied Territories of Palestine, Gaza and the West Bank, is a colony of the State of Israel. As Israel has denied Palestine any airport, all entry is by land crossing. It is sometimes possible to enter Palestine through Israel, as well as through land crossings with Jordan and Egypt, though frequent border closings inhibit travel.

Canadian citizens using Canadian passports do not require a visa to enter Israel for tourism or business stays under ninety (90) days. Canadian citizens using Canadian passports can obtain a visa upon arrival at Lebanon's Beirut International Airport. This visa is good for only one entry and is valid for a stay of up to thirty (30) days. Canadian citizens using Canadian passports require a visa to enter Egypt for all purposes.

Nationals of the following countries or places do not need a visa to enter Israel:
Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Central African Republic, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Estonia, Fiji Islands, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Haiti, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Latvia, Lesotho, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malawi, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Monaco, Mongolia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, San Marino, Singapore, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, Surinam, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Trinidad & Tobago, UK, USA, Uruguay.

All other nationals, including those with Permanent Resident status in Canada, need a visa.

The following information is courtesy of the Government of Canada, and is a warning to Canadians and foreigners attempting to travel in the Occupied Territories:

"Since December 27, 2008, Israel has been conducting a military operation in the Gaza Strip through air strikes and a ground offensive, while Hamas has been firing rockets into southern Israel. The operation has resulted in numerous casualties, including among civilians, as well as extensive damage to infrastructure and property. Demonstrations against the military operation have taken place in the Gaza Strip, the West Bank, and Jerusalem; some demonstrations have turned violent. Canadians are advised to exercise extreme caution at all times; avoid all crowds, political gatherings, and demonstrations; monitor news reports; and follow the advice of local authorities. The Government of Israel tightly controls checkpoint crossings within the West Bank and to the Gaza Strip. Security-related closures can severely restrict entry to and exit from these areas, even for persons possessing valid entry and exit permits. Limited hours of operation, unannounced travel restrictions and extended closures result in large crowds often gathering which may elevate associated risks to personal safety. Curfews may also be imposed with little notice. Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada advises against all travel to the Gaza Strip, as it continues to be affected by serious violence. Attacks have occurred and have resulted in multiple casualties. The situation could deteriorate further due to inter-factional violence, along with possible military operations in the area. Areas around the border with Israel are particularly dangerous. The entrances to and exits from the Gaza Strip are under the control of Israeli and Egyptian authorities and have been effectively closed since June 2007, even to those in possession of valid entry and exit permits. Canadian consular officials have very limited ability to intervene on behalf of Canadians who choose to enter or remain in the Gaza Strip."

For more information about travel conditions in the Middle East, please visit the Foreign Affairs Web site.